Final Programme

Ambition 2016

7-8 November
DoubleTree by Hilton Milton Keynes


18:00-19:00 – AGM*

19:00-19:30 – Arrival Drinks

19:30-22:00 – Seminar Dinner & Speeches
Selwyn Hodge, Ambition Chair
Tim Loughton MP*, Ambition Ambassador and former Children’s Minister (host)
Carole Aspden, Bournemouth Borough Council, Service Director
Matt Hyde, The Scout Association CEO
Lord Tom McNally, Youth Justice Board Chair

*The AGM is open to Ambition Members only. Non-members are welcome to attend all other items in the programme.



08:15-09:40 – Registration and Refreshments on arrival 

08:15-09:15 – A Positive Agenda, early morning roundtable
Conference guests are invited to an early morning briefing and roundtable discussion to help frame a positive agenda for young people, to include effective, high-quality collaborative services which can support positive outcomes for young people despite decreasing resources, and to make the case for greater investment in those areas. View the most recent paper here.

09:40-10:00 – Opening Speeches and Welcome

Welcome to Ambition
Emma Revie, Ambition, CEO
Welcome to Milton Keynes
Nicky Rayner, Milton Keynes Council, Services Director (Children & Families)

10:00-11:00 – Healthy Relationships, plenary and panel debate

Introduction from the chair
Tim Loughton MP, All Party Parliamentary Group for Children, Chair
Family, friends and sexual health
Helen Marshall, Brook, CEO
Life skills and personal development
Jenny Barksfield, PSHE, Deputy CEO
Communities and professional relationships
Nazir Afzal OBE, Association Police & Crime Commissioners, CEO

11:00-11:15 – Tea & Coffee Break

11:15-12:20 – Interactive Seminars - further information

Sports and Recreation
Leigh Thompson, Sport & Recreation Alliance, Policy Manager
John Downes, StreetGames, Head of Youth and Sport & Director of Strategic Relationships

Mental Health and Wellbeing
Tim Tod, Young Devon, CEO
Barbara Rayment, Youth Access, Director

Child Sexual Exploitation
Simone Taylor, Brook, Education and Training Manager
Katharine Wilson, Home Office, Safeguarding Unit

Social Action and NCS
John Kurubo, vInspired, Programme Co-ordinator
Johnny Soutan, vInspired, Schools Co-ordinator
Jon Niblo, NE Youth, CEO

Prevent Agenda
Marion Sandwell, Youth Justice Board Prevent Lead, Home Office
Marcus Riddell, Office for Security and Counter Terrorism, Home Office, Civil Society Manager
Nazir Afzal OBE, Association Police & Crime Commissioners, CEO (a.m. seminar only)
Sarah Pinnock, Luton Borough Council, Prevent Coordinator (p.m. seminar only)
Irfan Chishti MBE, Me and You Education, Co-Founder (p.m. seminar only)

Youth Justice
Lisa Harvey-Messina, Youth Justice Board, Head of Communities
Lesley Tregear, Association of Youth Offending Team Managers, Chair

12:25-13:00 – Positive Agenda for Young People, key-note speech

Emma Revie, Ambition, CEO
Keynote speech
Rob Wilson MP, Minister for Civil Society

13:00-13:45 – Lunch (included in all ticket types)

13:50-14:55 – Interactive Seminars repeated from a.m.

15:05-16:10 – Mental Health and Wellbeing, plenary and panel debate

Introduction from the chair
Tim Eyres, Norfolk County Council, Head of Service and Partnerships
Research and studies, and the Young People’s Health Partnership
Emma Rigby, Association of Young People’s Health, CEO
Support of services for young people
Mick Atkinson, Coalition for Children & Young People’s Mental Health, Vice-Chair
Girls’ wellbeing explored: understanding pressures and resilience
Becky Hewitt, Girlguiding, Director of Communications
Training and tools: from research to implementation
Tim Tod, Young Devon, CEO

16:10-16:40 – Positive Agenda for Young People, key-note speech

Emma Revie, Ambition, CEO
Keynote speech
Steve Reed MP, Shadow Minister for Charities

16:40-16:45 – Concluding remarks from Ambition

Session timings and order subject to change
*Participation subject to parliamentary commitments

Sign up for our newsletter